Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Featured Members
Jonathan ClarkJonathan Clark (at Hymers 1980 - 1990) was last year's Old Hymerian Association President
Jonathan LeafeJonathan Leafe (at Hymers 1970 - 1979) is the current President of the Old Hymerians Association

News & Press: OH News

Grafton Morrish Trophy Finals 2018

11 October 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

Grafton Morrish Trophy Finals 2018


A fairly new look Hymers team headed for Norfolk in early October for the finals of the Grafton Morrish Trophy. Held over the stunning links of Hunstanton and Royal West Norfolk, the three day tournament pits together 47 schools who won through their own regional qualifiers earlier in the year alongside holders Epsom.


Hymers were drawn to play at Hunstanton against a fairly unknown quantity in Brighton in round one. Top pair Anil Panesar and Henry Kilpatrick traded holes on the downwind front nine, then pressed ahead with some great golf into a stiff breeze after the turn to win 3&2. This was the sixth match Anil has played in the main draw since his debut in 2013. He has won five of those giving him a win ratio that other pairs in the competition could only dream of.


Second pair Ian Jones and David Page never really got their short game going and soon slipped behind to a solid Brighton twosome. A 5&4 loss left the match in the balance at 1-1. In the bottom match, Captain and OH President Jonathan Clark was paired with Grafton Morrish debutant Dan Leather. Despite having only played the course once the day before, Dan played some excellent golf on his first appearance at the finals. Having turned at three down, chances were missed to close the gap and despite a courageous Hymers  birdie at the 13th and solid pars at 14 and 15, the Brighton pair held on to win the tie and match at the short 16th. Tales of lost balls and lipped putts dominated the 19th hole ‘debrief’ most of the afternoon!


Thoughts then turned to the Solihull Salver on the Saturday at Royal West Norfolk. Dan returned home to the north-east and was replaced by Tim Atkin who joined the team fresh from his Royal Navy training in Shrewsbury. Despite appalling weather in which around half the eligible schools didn’t even begin their rounds, Hymers braved the howling wind and showers and got round somehow. Clark and Atkin led the way with a creditable 21 points, but the team score of only 50 (one more than Sedburgh) wasn’t quite enough to qualify for Sunday’s Committee Bowl.


George Heriot’s won the Grafton Morrish for a record sixth time, beating Millfield in the final. Whitgift won the Solihull Salver with an amazing 70 points and KCS Wimbledon beat Loughborough to win the Committee Bowl.



Team v Brighton (left to right): Henry Kilpatrick, Ian Jones, Jonathan Clark, Anil Panesar,
David Page, Dan Leather



Team for Solihull Salver (left to right): Jonathan Clark, David Page, Ian Jones, Henry Kilpatrick,
Anil Panesar, Tim Atkin

Sign In

Latest News